Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spicy Steak idea

Hi,

I'm very new to cooking (never done steak before) and I had an idea for a dish with my better half where we wanted to cook a steak, then cut it up and toss the pieces with some jalapenos and fresh cilantro. But the more I read about it online, it seems like a bad idea, since I guess the juice can just run out of the steak. Would it just be better to use a rub in the first place? Do I apply the rub before or after cooking it?

I would have no problem with the juice. There shouldn't be too much if you let the meat rest properly before slicing. If you do use a rub it should go on prior to cooking.
    “If you are afraid of butter, use cream.”
    – Julia Child

Comment

Chef is correct. Allow the steak to rest at 10-15 minutes before slicing.
      My wife likes her steak well done. I like mine rare. So I sear each side and put into a 350 oven for 8 minutes.
      I then remove the steak to a warm plate and lightly cover with foil for 20 minutes.
      I then slice it up (Costco steaks are at minimum 2-3 inches thick) and return hers to the pan for a few more minutes to make it look well done. Its really not, but I'm not saying a word.
      Regardless there will still be juice in the plate. I pour some on the slices. There's not much you can do about the juice unless you let it get cold.

Comment

If you want to cut it up, do so prior to cooking. And as mentioned, apply the rub and, or marinade before cooking (let it marinade), and resting post cooking is a must.

Comment

Originally posted by heathermarie View Post
          If you want to cut it up, do so prior to cooking. And as mentioned, apply the rub and, or marinade before cooking (let it marinade), and resting post cooking is a must.
          I disagree. The steak should be cooked prior to slicing and allowed to rest before slicing up.
          But that is my opinion and nothing more.

Comment