Baking Fish Help Please

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Baking Fish Help Please

I have been thinking about baking a fish (I have never done this before). Do you have any good recipes or tips for me?

How long does it take to defrost a frozen fish?

How long does a fish need to bake for? and on what temp?

thanks

My blog
    http://www.lisaopolis.com/

Defrost frozen fish in the refrigerator, overnight or up to a day before.

It's very difficult to give you time and temperature for baking "fish". There are so many kinds of fish, each with different characteristics, and thus call for different cooking methods.

Thin, delicate, lean white fish (talapia, flounder, trout) probably shouldn't be baked. Baking is a dry convective cooking process where hot air moves around the product, evaporating moisture and drying the item out. If you really want to prepare a fish filet in the oven, add moisture to the pan. Perhaps some tomato sauce, or jarred salsa with the fish baked in it. Now, you've added moisture to the process.

Steaming is the best method for lean, delicate items. Steaming is a moist, convective cooking method where hot moisture cooks the food like the hot air in your oven, and is quite simple. A small amount of softly simmering (not boiling) water with your piece of fish suspended above the liquid on a rack or steamer basket.